4th ACM SIGOPS Asia-Pacific Workshop on Systems (APSys 2013) Call for Papers

Singapore July 29-30th, 2013

Building on the success of its 2010--2012 predecessors in New Delhi, India; Shanghai, China; and Seoul, South Korea, APSys 2013 will be a lively forum for systems researchers and practitioners across the world to meet, interact, and collaborate with their peers from the Asia/Pacific region. We take a broad view of computer systems, and solicit papers on topics such as:

- Operating systems, including OSes for multicore and many-core architectures
- Virtualization, including novel VM applications
- File and storage systems, including designs for new storage technologies
- Mobile and pervasive computing
- Cloud computing and data center management
- Distributed systems
- Networks, including wireless technologies
- Unique system designs for developing countries
- Energy efficiency and green computing
- Measurement, monitoring and modeling
- Reliability, scalability, and fault-tolerance
- Security and privacy
- Embedded systems

Submissions should be six or fewer pages in length, formatted in standard ACM two-column conference style with 11-pt font size. A submission may present preliminary results, propose a new research direction, provide insightful retrospective, or offer a provocative viewpoint on an important systems topic. Papers will be selected based on their likelihood of generating insightful technical discussions at the workshop and influencing future systems research. Relevant attributes include originality, technical merit, clarity, and technical relevance. Accepted papers will appear in the proceedings of the workshop, which will be published in the ACM Digital Library. Consistent with standard scholarly practice, the authors should

not have substantially similar work in review anywhere else.

Important Dates:

• Submissions due: April 22, 2013 (23:59 GMT) (HARD DEADLINE)

Notifications: June 10, 2013
Camera-ready due: July 1, 2013
Workshop: July 29-30, 2013

Steering Committee:

Peter Druschel (Max Planck Institute, Germany)
Gernot Heiser (NICTA, UNSW, Australia)
Frans Kaashoek (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
Jeanna Matthews (Clarkson University, USA)
Mahadev Satyanarayanan (Carnegie Mellon University, USA)
Zheng Zhang (Microsoft Research-Asia, China)
Yuanyuan Zhou (UC San Diego, USA)

General Chair:

Ben Leong (National University of Singapore, Singapore)

Vice Chairs:

Jason Gu (Singapore University of Technology and Design, Singapore) Mo Li (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore)

Program Chairs:

Junfeng Yang (Columbia University, USA)
Zheng Zhang (Microsoft Research-Asia, China)

Program Committee:

Rajesh Balan (Singapore Management University, Singapore)

Haibo Chen (Shanghai Jiaotong University, China)

Wenguang Chen (Tsinghua University, China)

Gernot Heiser (NICTA, UNSW, Australia)

Kenji Kono (Keio University, Japan)

Ben Leong (National University of Singapore, Singapore)

Jinyang Li (New York University, USA)

Shan Lu (University of Wisconsin, Madison, USA)

Qiong Luo (Hong Kong University of Science & Technology, Hong Kong)

Dushyanth Narayanan (Microsoft Research Cambridge, UK)

Jason Nieh (Columbia University, USA)

KyoungSoo Park (Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Korea)

Krithi Ramamritham (Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay)

Mahadev Satyanarayanan (Carnegie Mellon University, USA)

Ya-Yunn Su (National Taiwan University, Taiwan)

Geoff Voelker (UC San Diego, USA)

Heon Yeom (Seoul National University, Korea)

Nickolai Zeldovich (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)

Yuanyuan Zhou (UC San Diego, USA)

Website:

http://apsys13.sutd.edu.sg/